Reading with my daughter

I'm currently working on reading Caldecott books with my daughter.  I'm going to document our journey of award winning books on this page.  While we are currently reading Caldecott books, I will also also be listing other award winning books or books of note on this page as they make their way to her reading table.

Here is the link to the Association for Library Service for Children's (ALSC) section of Books and Media Awards.  I'm referring to their list of Caldecott Medal books to check off books as we get and read them from the library.

Week of June 28, 2010
  • 2005 Caldecott Medal - Kitten's First Full Moon by Kevin Henkes (Greenwillow Books/HarperCollinsPublishers)
  • 2003 Caldecott Medal - My Friend Rabbit by Eric Rohmann (Roaring Brook Press/Millbrook Press)
  • 1958 Caldecott Medal - Time of Wonder by Robert McCloskey (Viking)
  • 1954 Caldecott Medal - Madeline's Rescue by Ludwig Bemelmans (Viking)

Week of June 21, 2010
  • 2009 Caldecott Medal - The House in the Night, illustrated by Beth Krommes, written by Susan Marie Swanson (Houghton Mifflin Company)
  • 1988 Caldecott Medal - Owl Moon, illustrated by John Schoenherr; text: Jane Yolen (Philomel)
  • 1978 Caldecott Medal - Noah's Ark by Peter Spier (Doubleday)
  • 1966 Caldecott Medal - Always Room for One More, illustrated by Nonny Hogrogian; text: Sorche Nic Leodhas, pseud. [Leclair Alger] (Holt)

Week of June 14, 2010
  • 2006 Caldecott Medal - The Hello, Goodbye Window illustrated by Chris Raschka and written by Norton Juster (Michael di Capua Books/Hyperion Books for Children)
  • 1973 Caldecott Medal - The Funny Little Woman, illustrated by Blair Lent; text: retold by Arlene Mosel (Dutton)
  • 1972 Caldecott Medal - One Fine Day, retold and illustrated by Nonny Hogrogian (Macmillan)
  • 1942 Caldecott Medal - Make Way for Ducklings by Robert McCloskey (Viking)
We own a copy of:
  • 2001 Caldecott Honor Book - Olivia by Ian Falconer (Atheneum)
  • 1986 Medal Winner: The Polar Express by Chris Van Allsburg (Houghton)
  • 1951 Caldecott Honor Book - If I Ran the Zoo by Dr. Seuss, pseud. [Theodor Seuss Geisel] (Random House)
  • 1950 Caldecott Honor Book - Bartholomew and the Oobleck by Dr. Seuss, pseud. [Theodor Seuss Geisel] (Random House)
  • 1944 Caldecott Honor Book - Child's Good Night Book, illustrated by Jean Charlot; text: Margaret Wise Brown (W. R. Scott)